Om Sharavana Bhavaya Namaha

Om Sharavana Bhavaya Namaha is my “good-luck” mantra that I will carry on my lips and in my heart during my travels in India. It is a mantra that can be chanted to bring good fortune and a desired outcome for the activities we are involved in.

A variety of opposing words are used to describe India, and because of that, it is most probably best to discover it for myself. It would certainly be interesting to see which words I will choose afterwards to capture the essence of this experience. And I do think that India is, above all else, an experience.

Everything I could organise for my ten days in Rajastan before meeting up with friends at the International Yoga Festival in Rishikesh, I have. My final lists have been written. My paperwork is in order. My suitcase is gaping and my bedroom looks like a tornado hit it. . . So, I guess, I am almost ready to go. I am both excited and nervous: two conditions that always play havoc with my mind and digestion just before each travelling adventure I have ever been on, so it is familiar and reassuring.

As I depart, I pray that I will remember to keep an open mind and not to judge others from my own value system, to trust that the Universe will bless each step I take and keep me safe, and that I will meet kind and generous people everywhere I go, so that I can experience India through their eyes as well.

Om Sharavana Bhavaya Namaha . . .

5 Comments

  1. February 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Oh I’m so jealous – it will be wonderful!!!

  2. Riana van Niekerk Taljaard said,

    February 18, 2012 at 12:47 am

    May every step of your experience be a memory to your senses.
    Take care

    Om Sharavana Bhavaya Namaha

  3. Nihar ranjan Behera said,

    May 17, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Om Sharavana Bhavaya Namaha

  4. October 3, 2013 at 11:54 am

    Om Saravana Bhavaya — May my Mind think only of lord Saravana


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

