When Life Gets Tough

I recently read a book called Miles from Home: A True Story of the Choices that Define Us by Colleen Lanier, that reminded me of the difficult decisions we have to make when life gets tough. In it she tells the poignant story of how she undertook a road trip of 2000 miles to help bring the parents of the man she recently broke up with to their new home. What makes this trip and the weeks that follow even more significant is that the mother suffers from Alzheimer’s and the father is rapidly losing his battle with cancer. Certainly not a journey for the faint hearted.

I love the way Colleen explained the difficult choices she had to make with the following words: “Most of all, however, I did if for me. Because I am clear in what type of person I want to be: A woman who can do the right thing even when it is difficult. A woman who will not let someone else’s vision of her cloud her own. “

Our choices do not just define who we are, but they are also a reflection of who we are striving to be. Sometimes it is easy to make good choices without too much soul-searching, but it is when life gets tough that it becomes so much harder to know if we are making the right choices. But, I believe, if we allow ourselves to always be guided by choices that honour the person we are and want to be, the choices we make will honour us with a life overflowing with blessings.

3 Comments

  1. February 4, 2013 at 8:47 am

    I wanted to thank you for such a lovely review. It is so gratifying to know that you heard what I was trying to say. Thank you for giving Miles from Home a chance.

    • February 4, 2013 at 9:25 am

      I have to thank you for sharing your story Colleen. You were extremely brave doing so. Your story made me laugh and cry, but above all, showed me the grace and inner strength we receive when pushed to our edges. My hope is that your life is blessed and beautiful – you certainly deserve a respite from the challenges of life.

  2. March 2, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    Hello again!
    I wanted to let you know that I will be giving the book away on Kindle (Amazon) March 3rd-4th as I celebrate one year “on the shelf.” Please help me spread the word- I want to make as many people as possible consider these issues and the choices they might make. I will have links on my FB page. Best wishes, and all good things, Colleen


Leave a Reply

