Omens

Perhaps my favourite book of all time is Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist. This simple story holds so many truths that I find myself every couple of years re-reading it, and every time it speaks to me in a new and different way. In it, he writes: God has prepared a path for everyone to follow. You just have to read the omens that he left you. Such a simple explanation, yet we all sometimes struggle with recognising the omens that were left for us when we have important choices to make.

I have a friend who is an absolute master of the five-year plan. He maps out his life in the finest detail, set work and personal goals, and surprisingly his life seems to follow his planning and determination with an uncanny accuracy. I, on the other hand, fail miserably where it comes to setting definitive goals. I have vague ideas of where I’d like to steer my life, and even when I try to set specific goals and map out a year, it never feels quite right, so I quit my lists before I even get started.

I tend to follow what Brian Leaf describes as follows: You can’t plan where you’ll find bliss and transformation; you can only follow the whispers as they call out to you. And so, every day, I do what I need to do, but I keep my eyes and ears open for omens and whispers, doing my best to follow where they call me to go.

Leave a Reply

